RECORDINGS:
Full Elluminate: https://sas.elluminate.com/p.jnlp?psid=2009-12-01.1028.M.9E9FE58134...
Audio: http://audio.edtechlive.com/foe/danwillingham.mp3
Chat Log: http://audio.edtechlive.com/foe/danwillingham.rtf

Date: Tuesday, December 1st, 2009
Time:
1:00pm Pacific / 4:00pm Eastern / 9:00pm GMT (international times here)
Duration: 1 hour
Location: In Elluminate. Log in at http://tr.im/futureofed. The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early. To make sure that your computer is configured for Elluminate, please visit http://www.elluminate.com/support. Recordings of the session will be posted within a day of the event.

Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive hour with Dan Willingham to discuss his book Why Don't Students Like School?. The book has been called "brilliant" (Wall Street Journal) and "a triumph" (Washington Post).

Daniel Willingham earned his B.A. from Duke University in 1983 and his Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology from Harvard University in 1990. He is currently Professor of Psychology at the University of Virginia, where he has taught since 1992. Until about 2000, his research focused solely on the brain basis of learning and memory. Today, all of his research concerns the application of cognitive psychology to K-12 education. He writes the “Ask the Cognitive Scientist” column for American Educator magazine, and blogs at the Washington Post. He is also the author of Why Don't Students Like School? (Jossey-Bass). His writing on education has been (or is being) translated into Chinese, French, Korean, Thai, Portuguese, and Russian.

More information at http://www.danielwillingham.com.

(Photo credit: Dan Addison/UVa public affairs)

Views: 248

Reply to This

A Learning Revolution Project

Education Quotes & Commentary

Twitter Feed

© 2017   Created by Steve Hargadon.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service